Big names involved in Championship League and Snooker Shoot Out draws

December 15, 2022
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Phil Haigh ✍️  

Betfred World Snooker Championship - Day Twelve
Mark Selby and Mark Williams are involved in both the Shoot Out and Championship League (Picture: Getty Images)

The draws and schedules for the Invitational Championship League and Snooker Shoot Out have been made, with big names involved in both events.

Luca Brecel won the ranking version of the Championship League at the start of the season, but the invitational edition is back this month, finally finishing at the start of March.

Seven players start in the first group, with one winner progressing to the winners’ group, while two are relegated and three new players join the next group to replace them.

The Shoot Out is the quickfire event with every match just one frame, limited to 10 minutes with a 15-second shot clock, reducing to 10 seconds for the final five minutes.

Not all the top players appear in the competition, partly due to the frantic nature and good chance they could be going home after one frame, but many will be playing in Leicester, with the tournament running from 25-28 January.

However, some stars have not been rewarded by the random draw in the Shoot Out, with Mark Allen playing Jack Lisowski in the opening round, while defending champion Hossein Vafaei plays Shaun Murphy and Gary Wilson has got Ricky Walden.

The full draw is available here, with other notable contests seeing Joe Parry play Luca Brecel, Ding Junhui meet Fan Zhengyi and Stephen Maguire take on Ken Doherty.

Invitational Championship League Groups and Schedule

Group One: 19-20 December
Ali Carter, Jack Lisowski, Jimmy Robertson, Jordan Brown, Matthew Selt, Ryan Day, Stuart Bingham

Group Two: 21-22 December
Barry Hawkins, Jack Jones, Robert Milkins

Group Three: 3-4 January
Kyren Wilson, Mark Selby, Ricky Walden

Group Four: 5-6 January
John Higgins, Judd Trump, Zhao Xintong

Group Five: 7-8 February
David Gilbert, Mark Williams, Neil Robertson

Group Six: 9-10 February
Anthony McGill, Luca Brecel, Zhou Yuelong

Group Seven: 27-28 February
Ronnie O’Sullivan, Shaun Murphy

Winners’ Group 1-2 March

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news on
FacebookTwitter and Instagram

This post appeared first on Snooker – Metro.

Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2023 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram