Masters Snooker 2023 draw: Ronnie O'Sullivan gets Luca Brecel as John Higgins meets Jack Lisowski

November 20, 2022
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Phil Haigh ✍️  

Neil Robertson
Neil Robertson will be the defending champion at the Masters in January (Picture: Zhai Zheng)

The draw for this season’s Masters has been made, with defending champion Neil Robertson taking on Shaun Murphy, while Ronnie O’Sullivan plays Luca Brecel.

15 of the 16 players in the draw are confirmed, with Ding Junhui able to grab the final spot in the field if he beats Mark Allen to win the UK Championship on Sunday evening. If he does so, Yan Bingtao will drop out of the draw.

With just the world’s top 16 heading to Alexandra Palace, it is only ever a quality draw and there are some immense matches coming up in the very first round.

Mark Selby against Zhao Xintong will be an interesting tussle, former champion Judd Trump takes on Ryan Day, while Mark Williams will play either Yan or Ding, either of which will be one not to miss.

John Higgins against Jack Lisowski is a standout tie, while there are heavyweight clashes as Kyren Wilson meets Stuart Bingham and Mark Allen faces Barry Hawkins.

Masters draw

Mark Selby vs Zhao Xintong
Judd Trump vs Ryan Day
Ronnie O’Sullivan vs Luca Brecel
John Higgins vs Jack Lisowski
Neil Robertson vs Shaun Murphy
Kyren Wilson vs Stuart Bingham
Mark Allen vs Barry Hawkins
Mark Williams vs Yan Bingtao/Ding Junhui

The Masters runs from 8-15 January at Alexandra Palace in London.

Last year’s event was memorable, with Robertson beating Hawkins in the final, but so much drama before that showpiece match.

The semi-finals were remarkable as Hawkins upset Trump and Robertson downed Williams after needing two snookers in the last frame.

There was also the incredible contest between Williams and Higgins, which both veterans classed as one of the most memorable matches of their long careers as the atmosphere in north London was at its brilliant best.

Masters draw seedings

Top Half
(1) Neil Robertson vs (12) Shaun Murphy
(8) Kyren Wilson vs (14) Stuart Bingham
(5) Mark Allen vs (13) Barry Hawkins
(4) Judd Trump vs (15) Ryan Day
Bottom Half
(3) Mark Selby vs (9) Zhao Xintong
(6) John Higgins vs (10) Jack Lisowski
(7) Mark Williams vs Yan/Ding
(2) Ronnie O’Sullivan vs (11) Luca Brecel

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news on
FacebookTwitter and Instagram

This post appeared first on Snooker – Metro.

Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2022 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram