O'Sullivan And Trump Among Championship League Field

May 22, 2020

Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Selby, Neil Robertson and World Champion Judd Trump are among the leading snooker stars to have confirmed their entry to Championship League Snooker, which will mark the return of live snooker to TV screens when it begins on ITV on Monday, June 1st.

Mark Allen, Kyren Wilson and Stuart Bingham are among the other top-16 players who have entered and will compete at Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes. For more details about the event click here

Group Matches Stage

Monday June 1stGroup 2Group 13
Judd TrumpDavid Gilbert
Daniel WellsStuart Carrington
Elliot SlessorJak Jones
David GraceJackson Page
Tuesday June 2ndGroup 9Group 3
Jack LisowskiMichael Holt
Luca BrecelMark Davis
Robbie WilliamsMark Joyce
Oliver LinesLouis Heathcote
Wednesday June 3rdGroup 12Group 4
Kyren WilsonJoe Perry
Ryan DayMark King
Alfie BurdenSam Baird
Chen FeilongHarvey Chandler
Thursday June 4thGroup 5Group 14
Mark SelbyGary Wilson
Liang WenboMatthew Stevens
Joe O’ConnorJohn Astley
Lee WalkerMitchell Mann
Friday June 5thGroup 10Group 15
Ronnie O’SullivanTom Ford
Chris WakelinRobert Milkins
Michael GeorgiouMike Dunn
Kishan HiraniIan Burns
Saturday June 6thGroup 1Group 8
Stuart BinghamJimmy Robertson
Ricky WaldenBen Woollaston
Jordon BrownLiam Highfield
Jamie ClarkeAlex Ursenbacher
Sunday June 7thGroup 16Group 7
Neil RobertsonBarry Hawkins
Kurt MaflinAnthony McGill
Ken DohertyCraig Steadman
Ashley CartyHammad Miah
Monday June 8thGroup 11Group 6
Mark AllenAli Carter
Martin O’DonnellMatt Selt
Michael WhiteSam Craigie
Nigel BondDominic Dale

Group winners’ stage

Tuesday June 9thGroup CGroup D
Winner of Group 10Winner of Group 15
Winner of Group 6Winner of Group 11
Winner of Group 1Winner of Group 8
Winner of Group 4Winner of Group 5
Wednesday June 10thGroup BGroup A
Winner of Group 12Winner of Group 14
Winner of Group 2Wiiner of Group 3
Winner of Group 7Winner of Group 9
Winner of Group 13Winner of Group 16

Tournament finals

Thursday June 11thWinner of Group C
Winner of Group D
Winner of Group B
Winner of Group A

The format of matches on each day will be announced next week.

Featuring 64-players in round-robin groups, the Championship League will take place behind closed doors with strict rules on social distancing, COVID testing and hygiene in place, in line with government guidelines. The Marshall Arena has been selected as the venue as it has on-site accommodation meaning no players, officials or staff will need to leave the venue once they have entered.

Play will begin at 3pm on Monday, June 1st with Judd Trump in Group Two action. O’Sullivan enters the fray in Group Ten on Friday, June 5th. All players who entered were seeded in order of their World Ranking after the Gibraltar Open, and split into four seeding pots of 16 players, with one player from each pot drawn at random into each group.

Championship League will be split into three phases, with all matches during all stages played as the best-of-four frames. Play will begin at 3pm each day, running continuously until both groups are complete, with the exception of Friday, June 5th when play will begin at 4pm.

  • GROUP MATCHES from June 1st to 8th will feature 16 groups of four players, with two groups played each day across two tables. The player who tops each group table will progress to Phase Two. Players will be awarded three points for a win and one point for a drawn match.
  • GROUP WINNERS from June 9th to 10thsees the 16 group winners split into four further groups of four, with two groups per day also played over two tables.
  • TOURNAMENT FINALS from June 11thwill see the four Phase Two winners battle it out over one final group, played on one table, to determine the Championship League winner.The total prize fund will stand at over £200,000. Players will earn a guaranteed £1,000 with the winner taking home £30,000 and a place in November’s Champion of Champions. Championship League will not be a ranking event and will be promoted by Matchroom Multi Sport.

Prize money

Group Round MatchesGroup Winners RoundTournament Finals
 Winner £4,000 £6,000 £20,000
 Runner-up £2,000 £2,500 £8,000
 3rd Place £1,500 £2,000 £4,000
 4th Place £1,000 £1,500 £2,000
 Total Per Group  £8,500  £12,000  £34,000
 Total All Groups  £136,000  £48,000  £34,000

This post appeared first on World Snooker.




Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2022 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram