Ronnie O'Sullivan "devastated" after being dragged into fresh snooker 'cheat' storm

February 22, 2020
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry


Ronnie O’Sullivan insisted he was “devastated” after being caught up in a new ‘cheat’ storm at the Shootout.

The Rocket apologised to beaten first-round opponent Alan McManus after TV replays showed he had fouled the black in Friday’s late-night clash in Watford.

O’Sullivan, playing in the quickfire event for the first time in five years in front of a raucous sell-out crowd, grazed the black with his cue while potting a tough pink.

Referee Desislava Bozhilova, alerted to the incident, called out “Stop” as O’Sullivan lined up the next red but failed to halt him playing the next shot.

And five-time world champion O’Sullivan, 44, claimed the deafening noise inside the Colosseum had played a part in not hearing either the foul or the official.

The incident led to a hail of online criticism for both O’Sullivan - with accusations of 'cheating' - and the referee. Bozhilova was also involved in another recent incident when Ali Carter talked her out of a correct call.

And there were echoes of another O’Sullivan incident at the English Open in 2018 when a foul by him in a 5-3 win over Luo Honghao went undetected.

O’Sullivan, denying any intent to deceive, said: “Look, when you’ re playing in a normal snooker tournament it is deadly silent. Snooker, like any sport, is played by sound.

“You hear everything usually and out there I couldn’t even hear it when I was hitting the ball.



O'Sullivan had a controversial moment in his match on Friday night

“It was totally news to me when I came in this morning and was told Desi was shouting my name to stop. I couldn’t hear her – then you watch it on TV and think ‘How could you not hear her?’

“But it was like playing in a football stadium with the singing and the chanting, and I couldn’t hear her. She is miked up to TV.

“I was devastated when O came in today, and I said to Alan I have heard and I am gutted and said to him if I could give you my place then I would, but I can’t.”

Shortly after the incident a shaken Bozhilova then re-spotted the yellow on the green spot.



O'Sullivan and McManus shake hands during their match

O’Sullivan added: “I said to the ref today ‘Desi I hear there were a couple of incidents, me hitting the black and you re-spotting the yellow on the green spot.

“And she said to me that her head was gone after that situation. So it shows in that atmosphere there a lot of little things can go wrong.

“After she asked me to stop and I played the next red, maybe they could change the rule. They could have stopped me, and put the pink and white back like the miss rule to get it right.”

A World Snooker spokesperson said: “If a foul is neither awarded by the referee nor successfully claimed by the non-striker before the next stroke is made then it is condoned.”





This post appeared first on Daily Star - Snooker.

What’s your Reaction?
+1
0
+1
0
+1
3
+1
4
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2022 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram