Season Opener Winners: Year By Year

August 9, 2021
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

The first ranking event of the 2021/22 season concludes this week, as the BetVictor Championship League is played to a finish.

Just 32 players remain in the event at the Morningside Arena in Leicester, with the champion to be crowned on Friday night. Click here for the Stage Two match schedule.

Here’s a list of the winners of the first ranking event of the season, so far this century:

2000: Peter Ebdon, British Open
2001: John Higgins, British Open
2002: Chris Small, LG Cup
2003: Mark Williams, LG Cup
2004: Ronnie O’Sullivan, Grand Prix
2005: John Higgins, Grand Prix
2006: Ding Junhui, Northern Ireland Trophy
2007: Dominic Dale, Shanghai Masters
2008: Ronnie O’Sullivan, Northern Ireland Trophy
2009: Ronnie O’Sullivan, Shanghai Masters
2010: Ali Carter, Shanghai Masters
2011: Stuart Bingham, Australian Open
2012: Ricky Walden, Wuxi Classic
2013: Neil Robertson, Wuxi Classic
2014: Neil Robertson, Wuxi Classic
2015: John Higgins, Australian Open
2016: Neil Robertson, Riga Masters
2017: Ryan Day, Riga Masters
2018: Neil Robertson, Riga Masters
2019: Yan Bingtao, Riga Masters
2020: Mark Selby, European Masters

Click here for details of how to watch the BetVictor Championship League this week. And a week today (August 16th) the British Open gets underway at the same venue in Leicester, with top stars including Judd Trump, Mark Selby and Shaun Murphy battling for the title. For ticket details click here.

This post appeared first on World Snooker.

Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2023 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram