Snooker fans spot referee error in Ronnie O'Sullivan's match

April 26, 2022

Snooker fans were quick to spot a refereeing error during Ronnie O'Sullivan's quarter-final clash at the the World Championship.

The six-time champion was taking on Stephen Maguire at the Crucible on Tuesday (April 26) morning and had just potted the pink. Referee Rob Spencer went to put the ball back in place on the brown spot, but failed to see that the black had just been moved.

Former champ Shaun Murphy, who was on commentary, explained: "That pink should be on the black spot. Pink’s in the wrong place. It used to be the players responsibility but they changed that rule some time ago. Now O’Sullivan has played that shot, it's deemed to be condoned and it will stay there.

"No one spotted it. The cue ball came around the table on the previous shot, nudged the black off its spot, pink spot occupied so the pink should have been re-spotted where the black was. Doesn't really matter, I suppose, not affected the gameplay at all."

While the mistake might have gone unnoticed around the table, one eagle-eyed viewer tweeted: "He has put the pink on the brown spot!!!"

Who's taking the World Championship crown? Let us know in the comments section.



Rob Spencer
Rob Spencer didn't see that the black had been moved before re-spotting the pink

And another argued it did have an impact. They wrote: "Well spotted on the pink not being on black spot I also spotted it but don’t agree that it didn’t affect play surely if a pot was on you like it on black spot to be amongst them to build a break?"

Ref Spencer was having a rough time of it, with some fans spotting another possible error from him which had come earlier in the match. As O'Sullivan potted a red it looked like he first hit the black.

One person commented: "Black first here for me. Thought Rob Spencer would’ve called that. No mention from Shaun or DT."

"Referee Rob Spencer having an interesting morning," added a fellow snooker fan. "First the black/red double contact, then this on frame 5. Ronnie O’Sullivan pots pink, at last moment the black spot becomes free, so that’s where the pink should go, not the brown spot."



This post appeared first on Daily Star - Snooker.

Merch

snooker-freaks-merch

Social

Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2022 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram