WPBSA Qualifiers Announced for 2020 World Snooker Championship

March 11, 2020
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Snooker’s world governing body the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) and the World Snooker Tour (WST) have announced the 16 amateurs selected to play in next month’s Betfred World Championship qualifiers in Sheffield.


Can any of the amateurs make it through to the Theatre of Dreams?

To be held at the English Institute for Sport from 8-15 April 2020, the qualifying rounds for this year’s Betfred World Championship will again be contested by main tour players not ranked inside of the world’s top 16 following this month’s Coral Tour Championship, who will be joined by 16 elite amateur players to complete the draw.

The qualifying tournament will be run under an all-new format which will see those players seeded 17-48 needing to win two matches to join the world’s top 16 at the iconic Crucible Theatre. Remaining players will be required to win up to four matches to play on snooker’s greatest stage.

The 16 amateur players selected by the WPBSA have each earned their places on the basis of their performances at international amateur events including this year’s World Snooker Federation tournaments and Challenge Tour.

Ashley Hugill – WSF Open champion, Challenge Tour number one ranked player, winner of two Challenge Tour events 2019/20, made maximum break at Challenge Tour event. Joins WST 2020/21 season.

Gao Yang – WSF Junior Open champion, leading Chinese junior. Joins WST 2020/21 season.

Lukas Kleckers – Won WST Place at Challenge Tour and winner of one Challenge Tour event. Joins WST 2020/21 season.

Iuilan Boiko – WSF Open runner-up (aged 14).

Sean Maddocks – WSF Junior Open runner-up, youngest player to make officially recognised maximum break.

Dean Young – Challenge Tour Event Winner, WST Shoot Out last 32.

Saudi Arabian Champion/No.1 – Saudi Arabia Sports Development Invite.

Challenge Tour Play-Off Winner TBC – Winner of Challenge Tour play-off, Joins WST 2020/21 season.

Reanne Evans – World Women’s Snooker No.1 ranked player and reigning world women’s champion.

Ng On Yee – World Women’s Snooker No.2 ranked player and 2020 Belgian Women’s Open champion.

Nutcharut Wongharuthai – World Women’s Snooker No.3 ranked player, first female player to make a verified maximum break, World Women’s Snooker Championship runner-up 2019.

Aaron Hill – European Under-18 Championship winner 2019 & 2020, Shoot Out last 32, WSF Junior Open semi-finalist

European Under-21 Championship winner TBC (10-14 March 2020)

Cody Turner – Oceania Under-21 Championship Winner

Ross Bulman – WST Shoot Out Last 32, German Masters performance beating Barry Hawkins.

Wu Yize – WSF Junior Open semi-finalist

All players selected will appear subject to acceptance of their place and any travel restrictions in place. Any replacement players will be selected from a reserve list to include performances at World Snooker Federation and Challenge Tour events.

Tickets for the qualifiers are on sale now – for details CLICK HERE

This post appeared first on World Snooker.

Dedicated to bringing you the very latest snooker content from a variety of sources around the web. No more hunting around, find everything you need right here.
Copyright © 2023 Snooker Freaks. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram